I’m back!

Finally a follow up to the Friday the 13th cliff-hanger. I became so involved with making photographs, working with my new camera (Canon EOS 5D  Mark II), and being completely focused on making work, that my blog activity fell away. Iceland was simply spectacular and all encompassing!

Now I’m back in my studio in Chicago, after a very productive trip. With over 6,000 new images, and 22 new short video pieces to contemplate, (with an interim week in New York City looking at art-more about that later), I have made my way back home.

So rather than try to encapsulate the time lapse, I think I’ll just start at the point where I find myself now….in my studio, staring at a blank 55 ft white wall.

We’ve all been there, at this moment, staring, slightly paralyzed, at the proverbial white canvas. But it also becomes a wonderful projector screen to imagine and contemplate realms of possibilities. As I start proofing and printing the new work of Future Perfect, I’ll post weekly progress reports.

The Starn’s Big Bambu

New York’s museum scene was on the quiet side the weekend before Labor Day. I did get a chance to see the Starn’s new installation Big Bambú at the Met.

Cooper-Hewitt Design Triennial: Why Design Now?

And the Design Triennial: Why Design Now? at the Cooper-Hewitt. This was particularly inspirational for the emphasis on Green design in architecture, landscape architecture, and product design.

But my favorite image was to be found in an exhibition of photographs from the Met’s collection by James Wallace Black and John Adams Whipple entitled The Moon 1857-1860, salted paper print from glass negative.

In December 1849 John Whipple made his first photograph of the moon, a daguerreotyped taken through the telescope. Although he did not make the first lunar photograph in America, in terms of accuracy and aesthetics Whipple produced what were internationally recognized as the most sublime photographs of the moon.

Leave a Reply

